Tsurugajo(鶴ヶ城) was built in 1384 and changed the loards many times between the different rulers of the Aizu area in Fukushima.
The castle was destroyed after the Boshin War of 1868, a rebellion against Tokugawa shogunate had taken over control from the shogunate and ended to Japan's feudal era.
The castle was rebuilt as a concrete reconstruction in the 1960s. Renovation works completed in 2011, the color of roof tiles was changed from grey to the original red, It is a unique color among Japanese castles.
Visitors can climb up to the top floor of the castle and look over the surrounding city.
The inside of the castle is a museum with attractive displays about the history of the castle and its loards family together with samurai lifestyle.
(Access) It takes 20 minutes bus ride of Aizu Loop Bus from JR Aizu-Wakamatsu Station.
(Last visit) October 2017